Lijiang – “One Horse Town”

Email to Rory on July 10, 2009:

I just got back and got in bed from taking Canada out for her birthday. We went to a little bar on a balcony and then to a hostel. This place is pretty cool at night. Now I am back in my hotel, which is like a converted mansion. It has several courtyards and nice little rooms. Way better than the moldy cockroach place. It is really nice.

I really love the mountains here. We are on the eastern edge of the Himalayas and they are absolutely beautiful. They are huge and very green. We are at about 7800 ft. with the mountains towering above. It was fantastic having a window seat on the way in. I was very lucky. I love that this place feels like home, just bigger and greener mountains. It is nice to have less humidity with the temperature in the 70s instead of the 80s and 90s. I really like it here so far.

Well, I guess I should go to sleep now. Minus the people, I think you would really like it here. Our tour guide said it is a very small “one horse town” at a population of 200,000. I guess it is all about perspective.

Green Jade Dragon Mountain, looming over the city of Lijiang.
Leave a Reply

